We are Your Divorce Resource in Little Rock
The first thing to do is get a snapshot of all of your assets. You need to know every asset you have prior to and during your marriage. The second thing to do is hire a divorce attorney who will help you navigate your rights during this difficult process.
In Arkansas, there are seven grounds for which a divorce may be filed:
A marital settlement is a property, custody, and support settlement within a divorce decree. A separation agreement is not quite a decree of divorce, but more of a legal separation. You are still able to divide up assets, assign support, etc. However, you are still not legally divorced. A legal separation and its agreement can be converted into a divorce.
You must be a resident of a County in Arkansas for 60 days in order to be able to file for divorce.
If it is uncontested and everyone agrees on the division of property and such matters, it might only be about 6 weeks. If it is contested, it will usually require a minimum of six months to a year and a half, sometimes longer, depending on any struggles between the parties.
An uncontested divorce is when the parties have identified all of their assets, all of their debts, and every other issue that could be litigated in a divorce process and have come to an agreement. This can include child custody and child support, if those apply. A contested divorce is when there is something in which the parties disagree.
Marital property division is normally split 50/50, but there are exceptions to this. Some examples include:
The requirement to go to court depends on your situation. Even in an uncontested divorce, you may still be required to go to court. The only time an uncontested divorce is not required to go to court is when they have been legally separated for 18 months and the judge approves of an Affidavit of Deposition. However, in most cases, even an uncontested divorce requires a short hearing with the clients and also a witness to verify in front of the court the grounds for divorce and the parties’ residency.
The cost for divorce depends on your situation with the type of service you require and the county in which it is being filed. If it is truly an uncontested divorce, then there will most likely be a $1,500 attorney fee plus costs that range from $165 up to $400.
However, in a contested divorce, then you can expect a starting retainer of $2,500. And if there are children involved, then you can expect a starting retainer of $3,500. In many cases, you are likely to spend up to $10,000 in a custody battle.
If you have anymore questions not in this Divorce FAQ, we offer a one-hour consultation for a set fee to evaluate your case and fully review it with you. We will explain to you how divorce law works and provide you with an overview of your rights. After this consultation, the required retainer and costs can then be estimated.
Call (501) 372-1200 or contact us online to set an appointment.
Copyright © 2017 Destiny Law. All Rights Reserved. Little Rock Internet Marketing by The Clix Group